a thousand times a thousand

it takes a thousand voices quoteI love the feeling of waking up, of surfacing. The mental state seems clarified by dreams and sleep. I love watching first thoughts bubbling up and popping. One caught me by surprise today inspired by listening to a podcast by a creative business coach. She unexpectedly found herself deciding she wanted to help one million people make a positive change in their life.

The question that came to mind as I lingered under the warmth of the duvet, disturbed only by bird calls in the trees at the foot of the garden was: what if I could inspire one million people to pledge one plant-based day per week? No animal products on the plate just for one day. And then, the free falling brain asked, what if those people then inspired just one other person to do the same?

The answer to that, according to my calculator, because I am not good with large numbers, is that one million x one million equals a trillion. That’s a far bigger number than the current population of the planet, which is somewhere between 7 and 8 billion. I realised with some relief that I wouldn’t need to directly inspire 1 million people, because heaven knows I’m an introvert and wouldn’t have a clue how to do that. If I downsize my aspiration to 1,000 people though, which feels a little less monumental as a collection of zeros,  and then they all in turn inspired just one other person, the million would be more achievable, and then if each of those inspired good people inspired someone else then we’d be right back at the 1 trillion mark, or at least all talking to each other about something that could change the planet forever.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

