bees and honey

bees and honeycombMy social media world is probably as large as my daily dog-walking horizon and  information passes me by in short posts and tweets like snippets of conversation with fellow dog walkers. Some bits of information stick to the front of my mind, and some unstick like old post-it notes that have fallen behind my desk. I am remembering somewhere that honey is not a vegan product, and trying to understand how this will fit in for me.

It seems that the main issues around honey and veganism is the exploitation, breeding and selling of bees, and that some bees are harmed or killed in the harvesting of honey. But, the more bees around the better, right? Especially when big chemical companies are doing their utmost to overturn an EU ban on their pesticides known to kill bees. A short-sighted world view to say the least, when pollination is essential for all flowering crops.

We don’t eat a lot of honey. We use it as an ingredient for baking and things like salad dressings, for spreading on toast or dribbling over yoghurt. It seems such a simple product compared with the highly processed Mexican agave syrup which has been trendy of late. I think simple is best. This is why I always preferred butter over products that have to be processed to look and behave like butter. Honey can also be a local product, bees gathering pollen from the fields and meadows close by, and beekeepers producing on a domestic scale. For the time being, you can call me a “beegan” for I am going to stick with simple and local, who knows these beekeepers may be the guardians of an endangered species.

 

Image via Off the Grid News

2 thoughts on “bees and honey

  1. I eat honey, and buy it local and raw. I see nothing wrong with “ethically” sourced honey in a “vegan” diet. I like your title of a beegan, I usually just say I eat a “plant based diet” these days to try and get away from labels all together. Anyway, I support the honey consumption…it’s a superfood!!

    Like

    1. Yes, I like the “plant-based” description too. The other thing I need to remember is that honey and agave and stevia – which I know next to nothing about – are all sweeteners and as such should be consumed in moderation. I for one have eaten far too much refined sugar in my life and by paying attention to this vegan exploration I find I am also considering the how, when and why of sweetness in my diet. It’s all very interesting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

